Hess Named NCBWA District I Player of the Year

Photo Credit: Tim Cowie
Photo Credit: Tim Cowie

KINGSTON, R.I. - Rhode Island second baseman Chris Hess has been named the 2017 NCBWA District I Player of the Year, announced Friday by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America. Hess is one of just 10 players from around the nation to earn the honor, and the second in program history as Jeff Cammans received the award in 2012.

A native of North Kingstown, R.I., Hess hit .347 (77-for-222) this season, with 44 runs, 22 doubles, three triples, eight homers, 48 RBI and 12 steals. Defensively, he helped the Rams turn 21 double plays while committing just six errors on 227 total chances.

The 2017 NEIBA Division I Player of the Year, Hess also owns Rhode Island's career triples record (19), ranks second all-time in doubles (46) and is third in extra-base hits (82). 

Previous NCBWA District Players of the Year have included Mark Teixeira (Georgia Tech), Mark Prior (USC), Khalil Greene (Clemson), Rickie Weeks (Southern), Jered Weaver (Long Beach State), Alex Gordon (Nebraska), Brad Lincoln (Houston), David Price (Vanderbilt), Buster Posey (Florida State), Stephen Strasburg (San Diego State), Taylor Jungmann (Texas), Mike Zunino (Florida), Kris Bryant (San Diego), AJ Reed (Kentucky) and Andrew Benintendi (Arkansas).

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site, www.ncbwa.com.