Zarokostas Named Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Year, Kristiansen Earns All-Rookie Accolades

Zarokostas Named Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Year, Kristiansen Earns All-Rookie Accolades

KINGSTON, R.I. - Rhode Island freshman Stavros Zarokostas has been named Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Year, announced Wednesday morning by the conference office. Zarokostas also earned All-Conference Second Team accolades, in addition to joining classmate Peder Kristiansen on the conference's All-Rookie team.

The leading scorer for the Rams, Zarokostas finished the regular season leading all Atlantic 10 freshmen in both goals (7) and total points (17). Additionally, he was the conference's only rookie ranked in the top-10 in either category.

Last weekend, the Coventry, R.I. native and two-time A-10 Rookie of the Week scored the double-overtime game-winning goal at Duquesne to put URI in the A-10 tournament. He also registered goals against George Mason, UMass, La Salle, Bryant, Drexel and New Hampshire and had assists against Davidson, UConn and St. Francis Brooklyn.

Zarokostas becomes the fifth player in program history to earn Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Year accolades, joining current teammate Nils Leifhelm (2014) and former Rams Danleigh Borman (2004), Anthony Curtis (1999) and Nicholas McCreath (1998).

Kristiansen finished the regular season tied for fifth in the conference with five assists - the most by an A-10 defender this season. Additionally, he was one of just two freshman to rank in the league's top-10 in assists. 

The Lillestrøm, Norway product set up both goals in last weekend's double-overtime win at Duquesne. He also recorded assists against New Hampshire, Stetson and Brown.

With both Zarokostas and Kristensen collecting All-Rookie honors, it marks the third straight year that Rhode Island places multiple players on the A-10 All-Rookie squad (2015: Emil Jesman SundeDominik Richter; 2014: Dante Lamb, Nils Leifhelm).

The sixth-seeded Rams open play at the 2016 Atlantic 10 Championship on Thursday night against third-seeded La Salle. Game time is set for 8 p.m. at Alumni Soccer Stadium in Davidson, N.C.


All-Conference First Team
Maxi Pragnell (F) - Davidson
Kennedy Nwabia (F) - Dayton
Janos Loebe (F) - Fordham
Luc Fatton (F) - VCU
Jannik Loebe (M) - Fordham
Garrett Heine (M) – George Washington
Rafael Andrade Santos (M) - VCU
Lalas Abubaker (D) - Dayton
Colman Kennedy (D) - La Salle
Dakota Barnathan (D) - VCU
Jorge Becerra (GK) – Massachusetts

All-Conference Second Team
Matt Robinson (F) - La Salle
Joe Saad (F)- Saint Louis
Jorge Herranz (F)- VCU
Stavros Zarokostas (M) - Rhode Island
Matt Crawford (M) - Saint Joseph's
Bliss Harris (M)- Saint Joseph's
Max Karcher (M) - Saint Louis
Matthew Lewis (D)- Fordham
Tobi Adewole (D) – George Washington
Joss Jess (D) – Massachusetts
Rashid Nuhu (GK) - Fordham

All-Rookie Team
Federico Barrios, Dayton
Rok Taneski, Dayton
Ryan Landry, Duquesne
Joergen Oland, Fordham
Tunde Akinlosotu, George Mason
Pat McCarthy, La Salle
Konrad Gorich, Massachusetts
Peder Kristiansen, Rhode Island
Stavros Zarokostas, Rhode Island
Paul Nana Afful, St. Bonaventure
Saadiq Mohammed, Saint Louis
Quayyum Murana, Saint Louis

All-Academic Team
Coletun Long, Dayton
Fredrik Borenstein, Duquesne
Diego Vieira, Duquesne
Eric Ohlendorf, Fordham
Thor Arne Hofs, George Washington
Sam Summerlin, George Washington
Matt Robinson, La Salle
Ty Goncalves, Massachusetts
Max Karcher, Saint Louis
Greg Boehme, VCU
Pierre Gardan, VCU

Offensive Player of the Year: Janos Loebe, Fordham
Defensive Player of the Year: Lalas Abubaker, Dayton
Midfielder of the Year: Garrett Heine, George Washington
Rookie of the Year: Stavros Zarokostas, Rhode Island
Coach of the Year: Mike McGinty, Saint Louis