Rams Beat Boston College, Win 12th Straight Resolute Cup

Rams Beat Boston College, Win 12th Straight Resolute Cup

Complete Results

– Rhode Island won its 12th straight Resolute Cup, beating Boston College in the Varsity 8+ race on the Charles River Saturday.

No. 20 Dartmouth was the official winner in the V8+ race, posting a time of 6:55.482. Rhody was next in 7:09.211, followed by Bates and the Eagles. Bates, the top ranked boat in Division III, had a time of 7:12.360, while BC finished in 7:23.498.

This was the second straight weekend Rhody's team of coxswain Lucy Moyes, Emily Winslow, Erika Pena, Kiana Anderson, Mekenzie Mattheson, Allie Reilly, Katie Shattuck, Katie Usher and Meghan Ellis took home some hardware. The week before, the V8+ boat won at the Kerr Cup in Philadelphia.

"Our Varsity 8 did an outstanding job today," Rhode Island head coach Shelagh Donahoe said. "The Resolute Cup is a long standing race against Boston College and we enjoy the competitive racing every year. From here, we will continue to prepare for the A-10 Championship."

Dartmouth swept each of the races. Rhode Island's Second Varsity 8 boat caught a crab, contributing to a tough finish.  

Rhode Island will compete next weekend at the Atlantic 10 Championship In Pennsauken, N.J.

Varsity 8
Dartmouth – 6:55.482
Rhode Island – 7:09.211
Bates –  7:12.360
Boston College – 7:23.498

Second Varsity 8
Dartmouth – 7:11.897
Boston College – 7:21.471
Bates – 7:27.168
Rhode Island – 7:32.170

Varsity 4 A
Dartmouth – 8:06.467
Boston College – 8:26.381
Rhode Island – 8:34.927

Varsity 4 B

Boston College B – 8:32.901
Rhode Island – 8:48.478
Boston College – 9:03.125

VARSITY 8+ (24-10)
Cox     Lucy Moyes
Stroke  Emily Winslow
7 Seat  Erika Pena
6 Seat  Kiana Anderson
5 Seat  Mekenzie Mattheson
4 Seat  Allie Reilly
3 Seat  Katie Shattuck
2 Seat  Katie Usher
Bow    Meghan Ellis

Cox     Karen Petrik
Stroke  Courtney Harrington
7 Seat  Maddie Van Ummersen
6 Seat  Kelsey Williams
5 Seat  Lauren Smith
4 Seat  Madalyn Saporito
3 Seat  Sage Iacovazzi
2 Seat  Jennae Alexander
Bow    Brooke McMahon 

VARSITY 4+A (13-18)
Cox     Tory Bauer
Stroke Kira McCully
3 Seat  Sarah Dudinski
2 Seat  Chandler Fisher
Bow    Erin Shober

VARSITY 4+B (17-8)
Cox     Brenna Kelly
Stroke Brooke Vergona
3 Seat  Hannah Faretra
2 Seat  Stephanie Erlacher
Bow    Caroline Eastus