Rams Dominate All-Conference Team; Donohoe Earns Coach of the Year

Jordan Burgess/Atlantic 10 Conference
Jordan Burgess/Atlantic 10 Conference

PENNSAUKEN, N.J. - Rhode Island placed three rowers - Kiana Anderson, Meghan Ellis and Katie Shattuck - on the 2018 Atlantic 10 All-Conference First-Team, while coxswain Lucy Moyes earned second-team recognition. For the fifth time in her illustrious career at Rhode Island, Shelagh Donohoe was named the Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year after leading the Rams to the sixth conference title in program history.

For Anderson and Shattuck, it was the second straight year they have been named to the league's first team. Ellis earned second-team honors a year ago. Moyes earned all-conference recognition for the first time in her career.

Donohoe, in her 12th season at Rhode Island, led the team to its fourth title in seven years, and its sixth overall. 

By winning the Atlantic 10 Championship, Rhode Island earned the third automatic bid to the NCAA Championship in program history. The Rams have previously competed in the national finals in 2016 and 2013. The NCAA Championship will be held at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Fla. from May 25 through May 27.

2018 Atlantic 10 Rowing All-Conference Team

Coach of the Year: Shelagh Donohoe, Rhode Island

All-Conference First Team
Kaleigh Barkaszi, Dayton
Faith Caldiero, Duquesne
Danae Ohresser-Joumard, Fordham
Megan Gooding, George Mason
Clare Keller, George Washington
Emilie Smith, George Washington
Zoe Hill, Massachusetts
Aiste Balciunaite, Massachusetts
Kiana Anderson, Rhode Island
Katie Shattuck, Rhode Island
Meghan Ellis, Rhode Island
Maria Biancaniello, Saint Joseph's

All-Conference Second Team
Cynthia Luz, Fordham
Erin Parker, Fordham
Valey Fey, George Washington
Jessica Lindsay, La Salle
Meghan Ouellette, Massachusetts
Grace Bundy, Massachusetts
Lucy Moyes, Rhode Island
Carolina Strauss, Saint Joseph's