Rams Set to Battle 14-Team Field at Eastern Sprints

Rams Set to Battle 14-Team Field at Eastern Sprints

KINGSTON, R.I. - In its final preparation before the Atlantic 10 Championship, Rhode Island will compete in the 14-team field at the Eastern Sprints Sunday, May 5.

The Eastern Sprints are held on Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass. Teams will battle for the Charles Willing, Jr. Team Trophy.

In the morning heats, the top two boats from each heat will advance to the Grand Final. The third and fourth boats will move on to the Petite Final, and remaining boats compete in the Third Final.

In the Varsity 8+ heat, Rhode Island will compete against Dartmouth, Drexel and Temple. In the Second Varsity 8+ flight, the Rams are grouped with Rutgers, Dartmouth and Connecticut. The Varsity 4+A boat will compete against Rutgers, Tennessee, Boston University and MIT.

In the eight-team Varsity 4+B flight, the top three boats from each heat advance to the Grand Final. The remaining teams go to the Petite Final. Rhody competes with Harvard/Radcliffe, Tennessee and Boston College in its heat.

Rhode Island Race Schedule
Varsity 8+
Heat 3 - 8:40 a.m.

Second Varsity 8+
Heat 3 - 9:10 a.m.

Varsity 4+A
Heat 1 - 9:20 a.m.

Varsity 4+B
Heat 2 - 10:00 a.m.

Finals begin at 1:30 p.m.

Rhode Island Lineups
Varsity 8+

Cox     Karen Petrik
Stroke Erika Pena
7 Seat Emily Winslow
6 Seat Maddie Van Ummersen
5 Seat Allie Reilly
4 Seat Sage Iacovazzi
3 Seat Jennae Alexander
2 Seat Katie Shattuck
Bow    Katie Usher

Second Varsity 8+
Cox     Brenna Kelly
Stroke Sarah Dudinski
7 Seat Madalyn Saporito
6 Seat Mekenzie Mattheson
5 Seat Kira McCully
4 Seat Erin Shober
3 Seat Kat Gillies
2 Seat Tinsley Copeland
Bow    Kelsey Williams

Varsity 4+A
Cox     Tory Bauer
Stroke Stephanie Erlacher
3 Seat Morgan Cody
2 Seat Anna Sampson
Bow    Julia Fortin

Varsity 4+B
Cox     Olivia Bleier
Stroke Hannah Faretra
3 Seat Josephine Grady
2 Seat Katherine Bradley
Bow    Emory Caswell