Rams Set for Atlantic 10 Title Defense Saturday

Rams Set for Atlantic 10 Title Defense Saturday

Atlantic 10 Championship Site

KINGSTON, R.I. - Rhode Island will attempt to defend its crown this weekend when it travels to the Atlantic 10 Championship in Pennsauken, N.J. this weekend.

Saturday morning the Rams will take to the water on Cooper River in search of their second straight conference title and the seventh overall in program history. Rhode Island has won four of the last seven A-10 titles.

Five members of Rhody's Varsity 8+ boat -  Erika Pena, Emily Winslow, Allie Reilly, Katie Shattuck and Katie Usher - were all part of the Varsity 8+ boat a year ago that led the team to victory.  The other members of this year's V8+ lineup - coxswain Karen Petrik, Maddie Van Ummersen, Jennae Alexander and Sage Iacovazzi - were all on the victorious Second Varsity 8+ boat a year ago, giving URI an experienced, successful crew in the top boat.

That experience exists on the Second Varsity 8+ boat as well. Sarah Dudinski, Madalyn Saporito, Mekenzie Mattheson, Kira McCully, Erin Shober and Kelsey Williams all were part of Rhody's three-boat lineup last season. Varsity 4+ coxswain Tory Bauer has championship experience as well.

The morning heats will begin at 8 a.m. Saturday. The top six boats will advance to the  Grand  Final in each flight.

Race Schedule
8:00 a.m. - Heat 1, Varsity 4+
8:20 a.m. - Heat 2, Varsity 4+
8:40 a.m. - Heat 1, Second Varsity 8+
9:00 a.m. - Heat 2, Second Varsity 8+
9:20 a.m. - Heat 1, Varsity 8+
9:40 a.m. - Heat 2, Varsity 8+

9:50 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

10:30 a.m. - Third Varsity 8+
10:50 a.m. - Petite Final, Varsity 4+
11:10 a.m. - Grand Final, Varsity 4+
11:30 a.m. - Petite Final, Second Varsity 8+
11:50 a.m. - Grand Final, Second Varsity 8+
12:10 a.m. - Petite Final, Varsity 8+
12:30 a.m. - Grand Final, Varsity 8+

Awards Ceremony
1:15 p.m.

Rhode Island Lineups
Varsity 8+
Cox    Karen Petrik
Stroke Erika Pena
7 Seat Emily Winslow
6 Seat Maddie Van Ummersen
5 Seat Allie Reilly
4 Seat Katie Shattuck
3 Seat Jennae Alexander
2 Seat Sage Iacovazzi
Bow    Katie Usher

Second Varsity 8+
Cox     Brenna Kelly
Stroke Sarah Dudinski
7 Seat Madalyn Saporito
6 Seat Mekenzie Mattheson
5 Seat Kira McCully
4 Seat Erin Shober
3 Seat Kat Gillies
2 Seat Tinsley Copeland
Bow    Kelsey Williams

Cox     Tory Bauer
Stroke Anna Sampson
3 Seat Morgan Cody
2 Seat Stephanie Erlacher
Bow     Julia Fortin

Third Varsity 8+
Cox     Olivia Bleier
Stroke Hannah Faretra
7 Seat Rachel Fabel
6 Seat Emory Caswell
5 Seat Katherine Bradley
4 Seat Kathy Zeglen
3 Seat Abby Warner
2 Seat Josephine Grady
Bow    Caroline Eastus