Rhody Repeat! Rams Dominate Field to Defend Atlantic 10 Title

Rhody Repeat! Rams Dominate Field to Defend Atlantic 10 Title

Complete Results

PENNSAUKEN, N.J. - Rhode Island dominated the field at the 2019 Atlantic 10 Rowing Championship, successfully defending its title and winning the league crown for the third time in four years. With the performance, the Rams once again secured a ticket to the NCAA Championship, earning the A-10's automatic bid.

The Varsity 8+, Second Varsity 8+ and Varsity 4+ all won their respective flights for the Rams, giving the Rams a clean sweep of the scoring events on the Cooper River. For Rhode Island, it is the seventh Atlantic 10 title in program history, and its fifth in eight seasons.

It was a two-team race in the standings, as Rhode Island (54 points) and George Washington (48) were well ahead of the rest of the field. Rhody and GW finished 1-2 in all three races. Fordham and Massachusetts tied for third place with 35 points each, while Dayton and Saint Joseph's tied for fifth place with 29.

Rhode Island led George Washington by three points (27-24) heading into the Grand Final of the Varsity 8+ flight. The team of coxswain Karen Petrik, Erika Pena, Emily Winslow, Maddie Van Ummersen, Allie Reilly, Katie Shattuck, Jennae Alexander, Sage Iacovazzi and Katie Usher secured the championship by beating the Colonials by more than four seconds.

Rhody finished in a time of 6:41.248, besting George Washington's time of 6:45.582. Fordham finished third in the race with a time of 6:49.755.

Rhode Island's Second Varsity 8+ boat of coxswain Brenna Kelly, Sarah Dudinski, Madalyn Saporito, Mekenzie Mattheson, Kira McCully, Erin Shober, Kat Gillies, Tinsley Copeland and Kelsey Williams won the tightest race of the day, holding off George Washington and Massachusetts. The three boats finished within 2.2 seconds of each other. Rhody crossed the line first in 7:00.103, followed by. GW (7:01.898) and UMass (7:02.306). The Rams had eased through the qualifying heat, winning that race in healthy fashion. The next closest boat, Fordham, was more than 12 seconds behind the Rams.

The Varsity 4+ crew of coxswain Tory Bauer, Anna Sampson, Morgan Cody, Stephanie Erlacher and Julia Fortin set the tone for Rhode Island. The team dominated its flight, winning the Grand Final by more than 10 seconds. The Rams finished in a time of 8:08.381, well ahead of second-place George Washington (8:18.849). The Varsity 4+ had qualified for the finals by winning its morning heat, beating the rest of the field by more than 21 seconds.

Rhode Island will compete at the NCAA Division I Rowing Championship in Indianapolis May 31 through June 2. The championship will be hosted by the Indianapolis Rowing Center at Eagle Creek Park. It will be Rhode Island's second straight NCAA Championship appearance, and the fourth overall in program history.

Team Standings
Rhode Island - 54

George Washington - 48
Fordham - 35
Massachusetts - 35 
Saint Joseph's - 29
Dayton - 29
Duquesne - 22
George Mason - 10
La Salle - 7

Rhode Island Race Results
Varsity 8+
Grand Final

Rhode Island - 6:41.248
George Washington - 6:45.582
Fordham - 6:49.975
Massachusetts - 6:50.688
Saint Joseph's - 6:54.115
Dayton - 7:01.520

Heat 1
Rhode Island - 7:13.065
Fordham - 7:19.882
Saint Joseph's - 7:21.324
George Mason - 7:43.900
La Salle - 8:09.284

Second Varsity 8+ Grand Final
Rhode Island - 7:00.103
George Washington - 7:01.898
Massachusetts - 7:02.306
Saint Joseph's - 7:16.668
Fordham - 7:21.185
Dayton - 7:35.546

Heat 1
Rhode Island - 7:28.888
Fordham - 7:41.165
Saint Joseph's - 7:45.500
La Salle - 8:19.031
George Mason - 8:31.081

Varsity 4+ Grand Final
Rhode Island - 8:08.381
George Washington - 8:18.849
Duquesne - 8:23.863
Massachusetts - 8:30.498
Saint Joseph's - 8:41.494
Fordham - 8:51.828

Heat 1
Rhode Island - 8:25.066

Fordham - 8:46.826
Saint Joseph's - 8:47.907
George Mason - 9:29.036

Third Varsity 8+ Final
George Washington - 7:24.759
Massachusetts - 7:31.099
Rhode Island - 7:36.795
Saint Joseph's - 8:02.510
Fordham - 8:10.457

Rhode Island Lineups
Varsity 8+ (33-15)
Cox    Karen Petrik
Stroke Erika Pena
7 Seat Emily Winslow
6 Seat Maddie Van Ummersen
5 Seat Allie Reilly
4 Seat Katie Shattuck
3 Seat Jennae Alexander
2 Seat Sage Iacovazzi
Bow    Katie Usher

Second Varsity 8+ (25-23)
Cox     Brenna Kelly
Stroke Sarah Dudinski
7 Seat Madalyn Saporito
6 Seat Mekenzie Mattheson
5 Seat Kira McCully
4 Seat Erin Shober
3 Seat Kat Gillies
2 Seat Tinsley Copeland
Bow    Kelsey Williams

Varsity 4+ (33-14)
Cox     Tory Bauer
Stroke Anna Sampson
3 Seat Morgan Cody 
2 Seat Stephanie Erlacher
Bow    Julia Fortin

Third Varsity 8+ (2-2)
Cox     Olivia Bleier
Stroke Hannah Faretra
7 Seat Rachel Fabel
6 Seat Emory Caswell
5 Seat Katherine Bradley
4 Seat Kathy Zeglen
3 Seat Abby Warner
2 Seat Josephine Grady
Bow    Caroline Eastus