Donohoe Named A-10 Coach of the Year; Four Rams Earn All-Conference Nods

Donohoe Named A-10 Coach of the Year; Four Rams Earn All-Conference Nods

PENNSAUKEN, N.J. - Rhode Island seniors Erika Pena, Allie Reilly and Maddie Van Ummersen were each named to the 2019 Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team, while classmate Katie Shattuck earned second-team honors. Head coach Shelagh Donohoe was named the league's Coach of the Year after leading the Rams to their second straight conference title Saturday.

Pena, Reilly, Van Ummersen and Shattuck were all part of the Varsity 8+ boat that won its flight and clinched the team title for Rhode Island. Their boat finished in a time of 6:41.248, more than four seconds better than second-place George Washington's time of 6:45.582.

While it is the first all-conference honor for Pena, Reilly and Van Ummersen, this is the third straight season Shattuck has earned a spot on the all-conference team. Shattuck, Pena and Reilly have now been a part of three A-10 titles with Rhode Island. Van Ummersen transferred to URI as a sophomore and was part of two team titles. Her boat won its flight at A-10s all three seasons she had at Rhode Island.

For Donohoe, Saturday marked the sixth A-10 Coach of the Year in her 13 seasons with the Rams. She has led Rhode Island to seven Atlantic 10 titles, including two straight and three in the last four years.

URI will represent the Atlantic 10 at the NCAA Division I Rowing Championship in Indianapolis May 31 through June 2. The championship will be hosted by the Indianapolis Rowing Center at Eagle Creek Park. It will be Rhode Island's second straight NCAA Championship appearance, and the fourth overall in program history. 

Kiley Tempert, Dayton
Maggie Cunningham, Duquesne
Aleksa Bjornson, Fordham
Erin Parker, Fordham
Lauren Bennett, George Washington
Maxine Cassell, George Washington
Aiste Balciunaite, Massachusetts
Hannah White, Massachusetts
Maddie Van Ummersen, Rhode Island
Erika Pena, Rhode Island
Allie Reilly, Rhode Island
Cassie Francis, Saint Joseph's

Casey Becker, Dayton
Caroline Roncinske, Fordham
Maria Justiniano, George Mason
Laila Shehab, George Washington
Kathryn Donohue, George Washington
Danielle Deley, La Salle
Daniella du Toit, Massachusetts
Katie Shattuck, Rhode Island
Shane Devine, Saint Joseph's